Village Vancouver

Vancouver's Leader in Transition toward Strong, Resilient, Complete Communities

The Transition Movement

Village Vancouver is part of a global movement and integrated network in 45 countries of:

Want a quick peak into a bible of Transition, The Transition Companion?

Click on this image to open the book and you'll be able to read several chapters.

Get involved

Have a desire to advance ecological sustainability, community resiliency, regeneration & self-reliance, and social well-being in Vancouver? To connect with others in your community to create positive local responses to things like climate disruption, depletion of natural assets and economic instability and inequity? Grow more food? Learn how to fix your bike or prepare for an emergency? Get your Permaculture Design Certificate? Share a meal or swap stuff with your neighbours? Save heritage seeds? Engage in placemaking in your neighbourhood ? Participate in a more localized economy and consume less? Bioremediate your community?

Check out our Villages, Groups, Networks, and Projects -- including Neighbourhood Food Networks -- VV's centres of creativity where constructive dialogue leads to connection, collaboration, and inspired action in fun and satisfying ways!

We run on people power - join our website and/or  the Village Vancouver Transition Society and get involved. Don't wait for an invitation; find folks on your own and "grab the reins." (We can help! - contact projects@villagevancouver.ca.)

 

Special Announcements

Upcoming events:

Sun Feb 26 Building Native Bee Houses (West End)

Tue Feb 28 Intro to Organic Gardening (Strathcona)

Wed Mar 1 Kits Village Collaborative Garden work party (Kits)

Wed Mar 1 Spicy Sauerkraut (Pt. Grey)

Sat Mar 4 Permaculture Garden work party (Pt. Grey)

Sat Mar 4 Seed Packet Party (Strathcona)

Sun Mar 5 Permaculture Garden work party (Strathcona)

Sun Mar 5 Organic Gardening Intensive (part 2) (West End)

Sun Mar 5 Kits Village Potluck & Neighbourhood Small Grants Info Session (Kits)

Mon Mar 6 Green Streets Garden work party (Kits)

Tue Mar 7 Intro to Organic Gardening (Oakridge)

Wed Mar 8 Kits Village Collaborative Garden work party (Kits)

 Thu Mar 9 Seed Libraries Organizing Team meeting (Kits or Strathcona)

Thu Mar 9 Intro to Organic Gardening (West End)

Sat Mar 11 Seed Savers Club (West End)

Sat Mar 11 2017 Gardening and Permaculture Opportunities Info Session (Strathcona)

Tue Mar 14 Wild Herbal and Mineral Vinegars (Strathcona)

Wed Mar 15 Kits Village Collaborative Garden work party (Kits)

Wed Mar 15 East Van Village/Permaculture Vancouver Potluck & workshop (Strathcona)

Thu Mar 16 Intro to Organic Gardening (West End)

Thu Mar 16 Recycling Depot (Kits)

Sat Mar 18 Permaculture Garden work party (Pt. Grey)

Sat Mar 18 Making Beeswax Salves w/Lori Snyder (Strathcona)

Sat Mar 18 Vancouver: Evening of Permaculture (Oakridge)

Sun Mar 19 Permaculture Garden work party (Strathcona)

Sun Mar 19 Community Potluck & Garden Club (West End)

Mon Mar 20 Green Streets Garden work party (Kits)

Wed Mar 22 Kits Village Collaborative Garden work party (Kits)

Sat Mar 25 Introduction to Native Pollinators (Pt. Grey)

Sun Mar 26 DIY Creative Garden Markers (West End)

Tue Mar 28 Learn to Make Kimchi (Strathcona)

Wed Mar 29 Beeswax Salves w/Lori Snyder (Pt. Grey)

Thu Mar 30 - Sat Apr 1 Just Film Festival (Downtown)

------------

Volunteer with Village Vancouver

DSCN1250

Over 20 ways you can help

---------

 To find previous News Blasts and Special Announcements, go to this page.

Photos

Loading…
  • Add Photos
  • View All

Events

 
 
 

Village engages individuals, neighbourhoods & organizations to take actions that build sustainable communities & have fun doing it. Join us!

Donate

You can make donations to Village Vancouver here.

Buy Books -- Support Village Vancouver

Village earns 15% on your book purchases from New Society Publishers. Details here.

Latest Activity

Profile IconGrist
1 hour ago
Ross Moster's event was featured
Thumbnail

*Introduction to Organic Gardening at Strathcona Community Centre

February 28, 2017 from 6:30pm to 8:30pm
5 hours ago
Christina Campbell is now a member of Village Vancouver
12 hours ago
Ross Moster updated an event
Thumbnail

*Spicy Kraut: Learn to Ferment Vegetables (low cost workshop; FREE for seniors) at West Point Grey Community Centre (Aberthau Mansion)

March 1, 2017 from 6:30pm to 8:30pm
13 hours ago

© 2017   Created by Randy Chatterjee.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service