Village Vancouver

Vancouver's Leader in Transition toward Strong, Resilient, Complete Communities

The Transition Movement

Village Vancouver is part of a global movement and integrated network in 45 countries of:

Want a quick peak into a bible of Transition, The Transition Companion?

Click on this image to open the book and you'll be able to read several chapters.

Get involved

Have a desire to advance ecological sustainability, community resiliency, regeneration & self-reliance, and social well-being in Vancouver? To connect with others in your community to create positive local responses to things like climate disruption, depletion of natural assets and economic instability and inequity? Grow more food? Learn how to fix your bike or prepare for an emergency? Get your Permaculture Design Certificate? Share a meal or swap stuff with your neighbours? Save heritage seeds? Engage in placemaking in your neighbourhood ? Participate in a more localized economy and consume less? Bioremediate your community?

Check out our Villages, Groups, Networks, and Projects -- including Neighbourhood Food Networks -- VV's centres of creativity where constructive dialogue leads to connection, collaboration, and inspired action in fun and satisfying ways!

We run on people power - join our website and/or  the Village Vancouver Transition Society and get involved. Don't wait for an invitation; find folks on your own and "grab the reins." (We can help! - contact projects@villagevancouver.ca.)

 

Special Announcements

Village Vancouver, Amnesty International and CoDev Canada present the 16th annual

Just Film Festival

30 March - 1 April

Vancity Theatre

-------

Upcoming events

Mon Mar 20 Green Streets Garden work party (Kits)

Tue Mar 21 Seed Savers Club (Strathcona)

Wed Mar 22 Kits Village Collaborative Garden work party (Kits)

Sat Mar 25 Introduction to Native Pollinators (Pt. Grey)

Sun Mar 26 DIY Creative Garden Markers (West End)

Sun Mar 26 Kits Village Potluck & Neighbourhood Small Grants Info Session (Kits)

Tue Mar 28 Learn to Make Kimchi (Strathcona)

Wed Mar 29 Beeswax Salves w/Lori Snyder (Pt. Grey)

Thu Mar 30 - Sat Apr 1 Just Film Festival (Downtown)

Sun Apr 2 2017 Gardening and Permaculture Opportunities Info Session (Strathcona)

Sun Apr 2 "DIY" Accesories for Miniature Gardens (West End)

Mon Apr 3 Making Beeswax Salves w/Lori Snyder (Strathcona)

Wed Apr 5 Making Sauerkraut (Pt. Grey)

Sat Apr 8 Seed Packet Party (Strathcona)

Sun Apr 9 Community Potluck & Garden Club (West End)

Tue Apr 11 Mason Jar Salads (Strathcona)

Thu Apr 13 Recycling Depot (Kits)

Thu Apr 13 Introduction to Native Pollinators (Strathcona)

Wed Apr 19 East Van Village/Permaculture Vancouver Potluck and workshop (Strathcona) 

Sat Apr 22 Organic Gardening Open House (Kits)

Sun Apr 23 Healthy Soils for a Great Garden (West End)

Tue Apr 25 Seed Savers Club (Strathcona)

Wed Apr 26 Seed Savers Club (Pt. Grey)

Thu Apr 27 Late Spring Gardening (Oakridge)

Sat Apr 29 Aberthau Gardening Project Open House (Pt. Grey)

Sun Apr 30 Introduction to Organic Gardening (Strathcona)

Wed May 3 Early Summer Gardening (Pt. Grey)

Sat May 6 Seed Savers Club (West End)

Sun May 7 Community Potluck  & Garden Club (West End)

Wed May 10 Milk and Water Kefir (Pt. Grey)

Wed May 17 Introduction to Fermenting (West End)

Wed May 17 East Van Village/Permaculture Vancouver Potluck and workshop (Strathcona)

Thu May 19 Recycling Depot (Kits)

Tue May 23 Fermented Giardiniera (Strathcona)

Wed May 24 Cooking class (topic TBA) (Pt. Grey)

Sun May 28 Native Edibles Workshop and Walk (West End) 

------------

Volunteer with Village Vancouver

DSCN1250

Over 20 ways you can help

---------

 To find previous News Blasts and Special Announcements, go to this page.

Photos

Loading…
  • Add Photos
  • View All
 
 
 

Village engages individuals, neighbourhoods & organizations to take actions that build sustainable communities & have fun doing it. Join us!

Donate

You can make donations to Village Vancouver here.

Buy Books -- Support Village Vancouver

Village earns 15% on your book purchases from New Society Publishers. Details here.

Latest Activity

Florian Goffin's event was featured
Thumbnail

Screening of "Tomorrow" + discussion at Creative coworkers (coworking space)

March 26, 2017 from 6:30pm to 9:30pm
8 minutes ago
Adonia joined Village Vancouver's group
3 hours ago
Profile IconRebecca Hasenauer, Lizi Ding and Adonia joined Village Vancouver
17 hours ago
Ross Moster's event was featured
Thumbnail

DIY Creative Garden Markers at West End Community Center

March 26, 2017 from 2pm to 4pm
yesterday

© 2017   Created by Randy Chatterjee.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service